Legal framework - Management and control bodies | BTC - Belgian Development Agency

Legal framework Management and control bodies


Divider text here
Enabel is a public-law company with social purposes, established by the Law of 21 December 1998. Our company number is 0264.814.354.

Its only shareholder is the Belgian State, which is represented in the General Meeting by the Minister of Development Cooperation. The relations between the Belgian State and Enabel are governed by a management contract.

Enabel’s organisational structure aims at efficient management and thorough control. The management bodies and control bodies are there to ensure this.

Management bodies

Divider text here
  • General Meeting (Minister of Development Cooperation)
  • Board of Directors
  • Managing director
  • Management Committee

Control bodies

Divider text here
  • Government’s Auditors (Development cooperation & Budget)
  • Board of Auditors (Court of Audit & registered auditors)
  • Internal audit

Board of Directors

Divider text here
There are twelve members on Enabel's Board of Directors, including the president, who is a member by right. The Board has an equal number of Dutch-speaking and French-speaking members. The Board members are appointed for a four-year renewable term by the Council of Ministers on the basis of their knowledge of international cooperation or management.

The Board of Directors is competent for all acts that are necessary or useful for the achievement of the social purposes of Enabel. It determines the strategy of Enabel on proposal of the executive manager and every year it approves a business plan in which the objectives and the strategy of Enabel are determined for the medium term.

  • Delphine Moralis, President 
  • Caroline Amrom
  •  Karla Basselier
  •  Brigitte Boone
  •  Alain Coheur
  •  Farah Dehon
  •  Amélie Derbaudrenghien
  •  Guido Gryseels
  •  Patrick Itschert
  •  Louise Ringuet
  •  Bart Staes
  •  Heidy Rombouts*

*The Director-general for Development Cooperation and Humanitarian Aid, Heidy Rombouts, represents the Federal Public Service Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation in Enabel's Board of Directors. However, she is ineligible to vote.

Management Committee

Divider text here
  • Mr Jean Van Wetter, Managing director
  • Mr Danny Verspreet, Director of Finances and Information & Communication Management
  • Mrs Martine Brisse, Director of Human Resources
  • Mr Sven Huyssen, Director Operations
  • Mrs Liana Hoornweg, Director Sector and Thematic Expertise